Revelation 1-3

{CHAPTERS 1 - 3}

[Click on the title below to open an article]

  1. Unsealing the Scroll - (Daniel was commanded to seal the Scroll, but the angel sent by Jesus commanded John NOT to do so since the season is now – Revelation 22:10) - {PDF Copy}
  2. Introduction to Revelation - (An introduction to and overview of the book) - {PDF Copy}
  3. Fourfold Structure - {PDF Copy} - (The book has four major literary divisions marked by John finding himself "in the spirit")
  4. Common Errors of Interpretation - {PDF Copy} - (The real-life relevance of Revelation is easily lost if we approach the book with incorrect presuppositions)
  5. Literal vs Nonliteral - {PDF Copy} - (The Book of Revelation informs the reader from the start that it communicates visually and symbolically)
  6. Revelation's Recipients - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation was addressed to seven actual churches in the province of Asia in the first century A.D.)
  7. Provided Interpretations - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation communicates symbolically and provides many of the necessary interpretations of its images)
  8. Linear Chronological Sequence? - {PDF Copy} - (Are Revelation’s visions presented in chronological sequence? If so, how do we explain the many parallel descriptions that link them?)
  9. Decoding Bible Prophecy - (Jesus, the Word become flesh, is THE one and only interpretive key that unlocks the Hebrew Scriptures and Bible prophecy) - {PDF Copy}

  1. Revelation of Jesus Christ - {PDF Copy} - (The Prologue of Revelation presents the key themes of the Book and declares that the season of fulfillment has arrived – Revelation 1:1-3)
  2. What Things Must Occur - {PDF Copy} - (From the start, Revelation declares its purpose is to show God’s servants what things must SOON COME TO PASS – Revelation 1:1-3)
  3. The Season is Here! - (In Revelation, the period known as the Last Days began following the death, resurrection, and enthronement of Jesus) - {PDF Copy}
  4. Call to Action - {PDF Copy- (Through a series of seven beatitudes, Revelation summons believers to faithfulness despite persecution)
  5. Seven Churches - Overview - {PDF Copy} - (The visitation of Jesus to the churches of Asia prepares the reader for the visions that follow the seven letters)
  6. Greetings from the Throne - {PDF Copy} - (The greetings from the Throne highlight key themes of the Book, especially the past victory and the present reign of Jesus)
  7. He Who Is - {PDF Copy} - (God is the One Who is, Who was and Who is coming, the Almighty, the One Who sits on the Throne at the center of Creation)
  8. The Seven Spirits of God - (Greetings are sent to the Seven Assemblies of Asia from God, Jesus, and the Seven Spirits of God that are before the Throne) - {PDF Copy}
  9. Jesus, the Faithful Witness - {PDF Copy} - (In the salutation sent to the Seven Assemblies, Jesus is called the Faithful Witness because of his self-sacrificial death)
  10. Firstborn of the Dead - (Jesus is the Firstborn of the Dead, a reference to his resurrection and the basis for the future resurrection of the saints – Revelation 1:5) - {PDF Copy}
  11. Ruler of Kings - (The Faithful Witness now reigns supreme over the Kings of the Earth, and he is shepherding the nations) - {PDF Copy}
  12. Kingdom of Priests - {PDF Copy} - (Disciples reign with Jesus as priests who render service in his Tabernacle and mediate his light and Word in the World)
  13. Isle of Patmos - {PDF Copy} - (John was exiled to Patmos because of his testimony – A fellow participant in the Tribulation and Perseverance in Jesus - Revelation 1:9)
  14. Tribulation, Kingdom, Endurance - {PDF Copy} - (Exiled on Patmos, John is a fellow participant in the tribulation, the kingdom, and the endurance that are in Jesus – Revelation 1:9)
  15. Martyrs and Overcomers - (In the Book of Revelation, overcoming saints persevere in their testimony for Jesus whatever the cost, even a martyr’s death) - {PDF Copy}
  16. Priestly Son of Man - {PDF Copy} - (The first vision presents the image of Jesus as one like a Son of Man, a priestly figure who walks among the Assemblies of Asia – Revelation 1:9-20)
  17. Tree of Life - Ephesus - {PDF Copy} - (The messenger at Ephesus is commended for rejecting false apostles, chastised for leaving his first love, and summoned to return to his first works)
  18. Faithful Until Death - {PDF Copy} - (The Assembly in Smyrna has faithfully persevered and is exhorted to continue to do so, even UNTIL DEATH - Revelation 2:8-11)
  19. Hold Fast My Name - Pergamos - {PDF Copy} - (Pergamos receives praise for remaining faithful to his name, but correction for tolerating the teachings of “Balaam”)
  20. Inhabitants of the Earth - {PDF Copy} - (The Inhabitants of the Earth represent the men who are omitted from the Book of Life because they embrace the Beast from the Sea)
  21. The Nicolaitans - {PDF Copy} - (Deceivers within the seven congregations were encouraging believers to compromise with the idolatrous rites of pagan society)
  22. Thyatira - {PDF Copy} - (The call to hear what the Spirit is saying to the churches begins to intensify after the warning about the teachings of Jezebel – Revelation 2:18-29)
  23. Food Offered to Idols - (Daniel and his three companions refused to participate in the religious rituals of the Babylonian Empire – Daniel 1:14) - {PDF Copy}
  24. Sardis - {PDF Copy} - (The church in Sardis receives no commendation, only warnings, and is summoned to repent while time remains – Revelation 3:1-6)
  25. Faithful Philadelphia - {PDF Copy} - (Philadelphia receives no correction since she has remained faithful, and therefore, she will be kept from the hour of trial – Revelation 3:7-13)
  26. Kept from the Hour - {PDF Copy} - (The hour of trial will come upon the whole habitable earth, but overcoming saints will not experience this final judicial act – Revelation 3:10)
  27. Laodicea - {PDF Copy} - (The messenger in Laodicea receives no commendation, only corrections and warnings. The only hope is refinement in fire – Revelation 3:14-22)

  1. WHO and WHEN - {PDF Copy} - (The Church is the battlefield where the final war is being waged between the Lamb and the Ancient Serpent, the Devil)
  2. The Shepherd King - {PDF Copy} - (The Lamb’s reign commenced with his death and resurrection, and since then, he has been shepherding the nations toward New Jerusalem)
  3. Beginning of the Creation - (Revelation looks forward to the reign of Jesus in the New Creation, a reality inaugurated by his Death and Resurrection) - {PDF Copy}
  4. THAT Son of Man - (The one like a Son of Man in Daniel is the source of Christ’s self-designation as the Son of Man and his authority) - {PDF Copy}

Lighthouse in Storm - photo by David Pye on Unsplash
[Lighthouse photo by David Pye on Unsplash]


Absent Church?

His Present Reign