Call to Action

Through a series of seven beatitudes, Revelation summons believers to faithfulness despite hostility, tribulation, and persecution. The Book of Revelation is not a tool of divination for deciphering future mysteries and events. Instead, it is a summons for God’s people to become vigilant, live righteously, and persevere in testimony during persecution and other trials. Its concern is not when certain events will occur, but how the Assembly of God must “overcome” and thus arrive at the city of “New Jerusalem.”

The seven “Assemblies of Asia” were struggling with deception, pressure to conform to the surrounding society, and persecution by local authorities. It was a time of “great tribulation.”

List - Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash
[Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash]

However, rather than remove the congregations from the situation, the Book exposes the true nature of the attacks against God’s people and calls the followers of Jesus to “
overcome” in every trial.

One method used to call believers to action is the exhortation to “overcome” found at the end of each of the seven letters to the “Assemblies.” Another is the series of seven “beatitudes” that appear at key literary junctures in the Book.

Numbers in Revelation are largely figurative. especially the numbers seven, four, ten and twelve. Multiples of the same numbers also occur, including twenty-eight (4 x 7), 1,000 (10 x 10 x 10), and 144,000 (12 x 12,000). Additionally, several unnumbered series are featured; for example, the name 'Jesus' occurs 14 times (2 x 7), “Christ” 7 times, and “lamb” 28 times (4 x 7).

The seven beatitudes form a prominent unnumbered series that pronounces “blessings” for faithful believers who persevere through tribulation.

The first beatitude reflects the historical context. “He who reads” is singular, and “they who hear” is plural. In the first century, books were expensive, and many individuals were barely literate. Often, one person would read a document aloud to a group. The following is a complete list of these beatitudes:

  • (Revelation 1:3) - “Blessed is the one who reads and those who hear the words of the prophecy and heed the things which are written in it; for the time is near.”
  • (Revelation 14:13) - “And I heard a voice from heaven, saying, Write, Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on! Yes, says the Spirit, that they may rest from their labors, for their deeds follow with them.”
  • (Revelation 16:15) - “Behold, I am coming like a thief. Blessed is the one who stays awake and keeps his garments, lest he walk about naked, and men see his shame.”
  • (Revelation 19:9) - “And he said to me, Write, Blessed are those who are invited to the marriage supper of the Lamb. And he said to me, these are true words of God.”
  • (Revelation 20:6) - “Blessed and holy is the one who has a part in the first resurrection; over these the second death has no power, but they will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with Him for a thousand years.”
  • (Revelation 22:7) - “And behold, I am coming quickly. Blessed is the one who heeds the words of the prophecy of this Scroll.”
  • (Revelation 22:14) - “Blessed are those who wash their robes that they may have the right to the tree of life and may enter by the gates into the city.”


The second beatitude exhorts saints to faithful endurance in persecution, which is how the disciple “keeps the commandments of God and the faith of Jesus” - (Revelation 14:13).

The third exhorts believers to be vigilant in view of the coming of Jesus. Watchful saints will “keep their garments” pure because Jesus could appear at any moment, and watchfulness is necessary because no one except God knows when that day will occur, just as the homeowner cannot know when the “thief” will strike - (Revelation 16:15).

The fourth beatitude pronounces blessings on “those who are invited to the marriage supper of the Lamb.” The fifth declares all men who participate in the “first resurrection… blessed and holy.” The “second death” will have no authority over them. Instead, they are “priests of God and of Christ, and reign with him” - (Revelation 19:9, 20:6).

The sixth reiterates the promise of the first beatitude and stands at the end of the Book - “Blessed is he who keeps the words of the prophecy of this Scroll.” Believers prepare for the coming of the Lord and keep their garments unsoiled by heeding the words of the Book of Revelation - (Revelation 22:7).

The final beatitude pronounces “blessings” on every believer who “washes his robes.” Overcomers will eat freely of the “Tree of Life” and enter the city of “New Jerusalem” by its glorious gates.

The image of washing robes also occurs in the vision of the “innumerable multitude.” Having come out of the “Great Tribulation,” men “from every nation… wash their robes and make them white in the blood of the Lamb” - (Revelation 7:9-17, 22:14).

Collectively, the seven beatitudes constitute a CALL TO ACTION for the seven “Assemblies of Asia.” They highlight the key themes of the Book, including exhortations to bear witness, remain vigilant, keep one’s “garments” unsullied, strive to attain the “first resurrection,” keep the “words of the prophecy,” and wash one’s robes in the “blood of the Lamb.”

Finally, this call is summarized best by the declaration of the saints’ victory over the Dragon: “They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony, and they loved not their lives even unto the death” - (Revelation 12:11).




Absent Church?

He Nullified Death